Pianographique in Remembrance

By starting the content, you agree that data will be transmitted to www.youtube.com.
Data Protection Declaration

In May 2020, Ars Electronica Home Delivery launched the Pianographique series as a musical and visual response to a pandemic whose far-reaching consequences we were just beginning to imagine. One year later we are again at a crossroads: millions of lives lost, fragile existences endangered, economic devastation a recurring reality. The newly developed vaccines have brought a measure of hope, at least for the countries wealthy enough to access them, but unless we find a way internationally to make vaccines available world-wide, the little real progress that has been made will evaporate in a cloud of new mutations.

Maki Namekawa, and Dennis Russell Davies commemorated the original work on May 2, 2021, at the Ars Electronica Center’s Deep Space 8K: Maurice Ravel’s masterful Mother Goose Suite, with visuals by Cori O’Lan. The beginning of the program will dedicate three organ preludes by J.S. Bach, arranged by György Kurtag, to the memory of the victims of this tragic pandemic.


J.S. Bach (arr. by György Kurtag):
„Gottes Zeit ist die allerbeste Zeit“ („Actus tragicus“)
„Aus tiefer Not schrei ich zu dir“
„O Lamm Gottes, unschuldig“

Maurice Ravel: „Ma mère l’Oye“
I. Pavane de Belle au bois dormant („Pavane aus Dornröschen“)
II. Petit Poucet („Der kleine Däumling“)
III. Laideronnette, Imperatrice des Pagodes („Die grüne Schlange“)
IV. Les entretiens de la Belle et de la Bete („Die Schöne und das Biest“)
V. Le jardin feerique („Der märchenhafte Garten“)

The Home Delivery event “Deep Space LIVE” is supported by LINZ AG.

, , , ,