DUMKY” – Piano Trios by Dvořák and Shostakovich.

press release as pdf
press accreditation for Ars Electronica Festival
Ars Electronica Blog

TUE 24.5.2022 / 7:30 – 9:00 p.m. / Ars Electronica Center

(Linz, 19.5.2022) Alternating between slow and fast tempos and different moods ranging from somber contemplation to lighthearted cheerfulness: Classical music enthusiasts prick up their ears May 24 when Antonin Dvořák’s Piano Trio No. 4 Opus 90, also known as the “Dumky” Trio, brings Deep Space to life. The chamber music piece for piano, violin and cello is among the composer’s best-known works. In addition to the “Dumky” Trio, Yusi Chen on violin, Sven Faulian on cello and Suyang Kim on piano will also perform Dmitri Shostakovich’s Piano Trio Opus 67, beginning at 7:30 p.m. Deep Space Concert is supported by LINZ AG and HYPO Oberösterreich.

Yusi Chen

Born in China, Yusi Chen began playing the violin at the age of 6. In 2001 he was accepted to study with Eberhard Feltz at the Musikhochschule “Hanns Eisler” in Berlin, where he completed his artistic diploma with distinction. During his studies he was already engaged as an academist in the Konzerthaus-Orchester Berlin. Since 2008 he has been playing as 1st violinist with the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra.

Sven Faulian

Born in Neubrandenburg, Germany, he began his cello studies in 1981 at the music school of his hometown. In 1986 he was admitted to the “Hannes Eisler” Academy of Music, and in 1995 to the cello master class at the Berlin Academy of Music. Since April 2005 he has been a member of the cello section of the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra.

Suyang Kim

Suyang Kim was born in South Korea. She studied concert piano at Kyonghee University in Seoul and then at Anton Bruckner Private University, where she was able to combine her diploma examination with a debut at the Brucknerhaus.

Sven Faulian, Yusi Chen, Suyang Kim / Foto: Ensemble Verve / Printversion