Submissions for S+T+ARTS Prize 2023 open today

Press text as PDF
More information and submission for the S+T+ARTS Prize
Ars Electronica

(Linz/Brussels, 11.1.2023) Artists, scientists, technologists, institutions, labs and companies can now submit their best projects for the European Commission’s prestigious S+T+ARTS Prize 2023.

The most important facts at a glance:

S+T+ARTS stands for Science, Technology and Arts and is an initiative of the European Commission. It aims to combine technology and artistic practice in the best possible way. As part of this initiative, the S+T+ARTS Prize recognizes the most promising collaborations at the interface of science, technology and the arts. The European Commission’s S+T+ARTS Prize is announced and carried out by a consortium, including Linz-based Ars Electronica in a leading role. Since 2016, the prestigious prize has honored more than 200 projects from 14,291 submissions from 96 countries and distributed a total of 280,000 euros in prize money.

The S+T+ARTS Prize 2023
Once again, innovative and groundbreaking work and collaborations that help to master Europe’s social, ecological and economic challenges are in demand. Thematically, the 2023 focus is on interdisciplinary projects that explore creative data and media innovations, as well as work that explores hybrid formats, disruptive technologies, or next-generation media storytelling initiatives.

Two prizes of 20,000 euros each
Two prizes of 20,000 euros each await the winners. The “Grand Prize – Innovative Collaboration” rewards innovative collaboration between industry or technology and the artistic (and creative) field. And the “Grand Prize – Artistic Exploration” honors artistic research and works that have the potential to influence or change the use, application or perception of technology. In addition to the prize money, there are also the coveted S+T+ARTS Prize Trophies and appearances at the partner institutions to be won.

Submissions until March 3
Submissions for the S+T+ARTS Prize will begin on January 11, 2023, and the deadline for submissions is March 3, 2023. The European Commission Prize is announced and organized by Ars Electronica, Bozar, Waag, INOVA+, T6 Ecosystems, French Tech Grande Provence and the Frankfurt Book Fair. The competition is part of the European Commission’s S+T+ARTS initiative. Participation in the competition is free of charge. The winning projects will be presented at the Ars Electronica Festival in Linz in September 2023, at Bozar – Center for Fine Arts in Brussels, at the Frankfurt Book Fair and at various exhibitions and events of the consortium partners worldwide.

More information and submission for the S+T+ARTS Prize

Ars Electronica

EU flag
This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 956603. This publication (communication) reflects the views only of the author, and the European Commission cannot be held responsible for any use which may be made of the information contained therein.

The S+T+ARTS-Prize Trophy by Nick Ervinck (BE) / Photo: Ars Electronica / Martin Hieslmair / Printversion

The S+T+ARTS-Prize Trophy by Nick Ervinck (BE) / Photo: Peter Verplancke / Printversion