Prix Ars Electronica 2018 Starts Today

Entry deadline: March 2, 2018
Prix Ars Electronica 2018 Starts Today

Submissions and info:
Prix Ars Electronica on the Ars Electronica Blog

(Linz, January 17, 2018) Projects may now be submitted and/or nominated for 2018 Prix Ars Electronica prize consideration. This year’s categories are Computer Animation, Digital Communities, Interactive Art + and u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD. Prizewinners will be honored with a Golden Nica statuette, prize money of up to €10,000 per category, and a featured appearance at the next Ars Electronica Festival in early September. There is no entry fee. The deadline is March 2nd.

The 2018 Competition’s Categories

Computer Animation …

… is open to indie artistic and scientific works as well as commercial high-end productions from the film, advertising and entertainment industries. Artistic originality counts just as much as technical excellence. We expressly encourage the submission of experiments and approaches based on expanded interpretations of computer animation, as well as works that go beyond the confines of the movie screen in both artistic and technical respects.

Digital Communities …

… is the category for political, social, artistic and cultural projects, initiatives, groups and scenes worldwide that employ digital technologies on behalf of social betterment and responsible, sustainable human coexistence. We look forward to hearing from the initiators and administrators of communities as well as the developers of relevant technologies; we endeavor to honor efforts that serve to establish and propagate digital communities, nurture understanding for them, and promote research on them.

Interactive Art + …

… encompasses a broad spectrum of interactive art forms and formats—for instance, installations, performances and network projects. The jury focuses on the artistic quality of the interaction’s development and design, and looks for a meaningful dialog between the content on one hand and the work’s interaction principles and interfaces on the other. Of particular interest are projects with a sociopolitical agenda, works that manifest technological or scientific achievements, as well as those that expand human latitude for action and the spheres in which people can make a positive impact. Additional criteria are innovation and the originality of the submitted work.

In response to the increasing diversity of the artistic works and methods used in this category, a “+” was appended to its title as a way to express Ars Electronica’s openness to novel experiments and expanded interpretations of interactive art.


… is the category for kids and young people in Austria. We welcome the submission of artistic animated films, sound creations, websites, apps, scientific projects and innovative, futuristic ideas.

Prix Ars Electronica: The World’s Most Time-honored Competition in Media Art

Since 1987, Prix Ars Electronica has been an interdisciplinary platform for all those who use the computer as a universal design medium in their artistic work at the interface of art, technology and society. The annual competition to determine the recipients is an open call in several categories; invariably, the response is several thousand entries from throughout the world. The best are singled out for recognition with a Golden Nica statuette, one of the foremost awards for creativity and pioneering spirit in the field of digital media. Each year, the Prix’s highly diversified dramatis personae ranges from internationally renowned artists to creative young trailblazers.
The Prix Ars Electronica is produced by Ars Electronica Linz GmbH & Co KG in cooperation with the OK Center for Contemporary Art and Brucknerhaus Linz.

The Golden Nicas / photocredit: tom mesic / Printversion