Photo: Ars Electronica / Martin Hieslmair

Win the Golden Nica, 10,000 euros and join the community!

Submission deadline: March 3, 2023

The Prix Ars Electronica is the world’s longest-running media art competition. With the award-winning works of international artists as a trend barometer, it offers an inspiring, current and forward-looking insight into the interface between art, technology and society.

The winners can look forward to the coveted Golden Nicas, up to 10,000 euros per category and a prominent appearance at the renowned Ars Electronica Festival in Linz.

Symbol Goldene Nica

In addition, there are several other open calls: The 5,000-euro Isao Tomita Special Prize, the European Union Prize for Citizen Science, the S+T+ARTS Prize by the European Commission, and the Klasse! Lernen. Award in cooperation with OeAD and the Austrian Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research.

2023 Categories


January 13, 2023Start of the worldwide Open Call
March 3, 2023Deadline
April 20 – 23, 2023Prix Jury Weekend
June 12, 2023The award winners are presented
September 6 – 10, 20232023 Ars Electronica Festival in Linz, Austria: CyberArts Exhibition, Prix Forums, Prix Awards Ceremony, Events, Concerts, Performances, Workshops

Prix Ars Electronica

Media art since 1987

Initiated in 1987 by Hannes Leopoldseder, the Prix Ars Electronica has developed into one of the most prestigious media art prizes in the world.

More Open Calls

CyberArts 2022

The extensively illustrated Prix Ars Electronica 2022 book presents the award-winning works of 2022 and includes texts by the artists as well as statements by the juries that selected the prizewinners. The 2023 edition will be published in early September 2023!


Ars Electronica Linz GmbH & Co KG / Ars-Electronica-Straße 1, 4040 Linz, Austria
Tel. +43.732.7272.0, Fax. +43.732.7272.2, E-Mail:, UID: ATU72312179
All Rights Reserved, Privacy / Impress/Copyright