Prix Ars Electronica 2019 with new category

Submission deadline March 1

Press text as PDF
Prix Ars Electronica / Submissions to Open Call
Interview / Gerfried Stocker and Emiko Ogawa on the new category “Artificial Intelligence & Life Art”

(Linz, January 16, 2019) As we begin 2019, the Prix Ars Electronica is kicking off the New Year by introducing a new category. With “Artificial Intelligence & Life Art” the world’s most time-honored media arts competition is now also seeking artistic works in the field of Artificial Intelligence. The other categories for the 2019 competition are “Computer Animation” and “Digital Musics & Sound Art,” along with the Austrian youth category “u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD.” Submissions to Prix Ars Electronica 2019 are free of charge and will be accepted until March 1. Winners are eligible for the coveted Golden Nica awards and monetary prizes of up to 10,000 euros in each category. They will also be featured at the Ars Electronica Festival from September 5 to 9, 2019.

New category: Artificial Intelligence & Life Art …

… is dedicated to artistic production, thought, and reflection around artificial intelligence and life sciences. We are seeking works that focus on or apply aspects of biotech, gene tech, synthetic biology, machine learning, deep learning or other AI research areas. With this new category, the Prix Ars Electronica recognizes and supports artists who explore the intersection of robotics and prosthetics or tackle environmental and ecological issues, the biosphere and diversity. We are particularly interested in cooperation between art and science, as well as works focusing on the cultural and societal relevance of AI, its ethical and philosophical dimension, and the role of political decision makers, governments, and industry.

Computer Animation …

… is open to independent works of art and science as well as high-end commercial productions in the film, advertising, and entertainment industry. Artistic creativity is as important as excellent technical achievement. Submissions should be experimental, based on an expanded interpretation of computer animation that goes beyond the screen in the artistic as well as the technical sense.

Digital Musics & Sound Art …

… is looking for contemporary digital sound productions from the broad spectrum of “Electronica”: works that combine sound and media, computer compositions ranging from electro-acoustic to experimental, and sound installations. Irrespective of the media or genres used, the musical qualities and sound artistry are of primary importance.


… addresses youngsters under 19 years old and searches for future ideas and visions of the young generation. The category is divided into the age groups „Young Creatives“ (up to 14) and „Young Professionals“ (between 14 and 19) and tended nationwide in Austria. Submissions can be anything from artistic animated films, sound creations, websites, apps, scientific projects, or innovative ideas for the future.

Prix Ars Electronica – the world’s longest-running competition for media art

Since 1987, the Prix Ars Electronica has been an interdisciplinary platform for everyone who uses the computer as a universal design medium to create artistic works at the intersection of art, technology, and society. The annual competition encompasses several categories that receive thousands of submissions from all over the world. The best projects win the Golden Nica, one of the most important awards for creativity and pioneering spirit in the field of digital media. Each year, participants range from artists with worldwide recognition to creative, young shooting stars. The Prix Ars Electronica is organized by Ars Electronica Linz GmbH & Co KG in cooperation with the OK Offenes Kulturhaus Oberösterreich and the Brucknerhaus Linz.

Golden Nicas / photo credit: Florian Voggeneder / Print version

Golden Nicas / photo credit: Tom Mesic / Print version