CAMPUS Exhibition

Thu Sep 5, 2019, 10:00 am - 7:30 pm
Fri Sep 6, 2019, 10:00 am - 7:30 pm
Sat Sep 7, 2019, 10:00 am - 7:30 pm
Sun Sep 8, 2019, 10:00 am - 7:30 pm
Mon Sep 9, 2019, 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
All times are given in Central European Summer Time (CEST / UTC +2).
POSTCITY, First Floor

Every year since 2002, Ars Electronica and the University of Art and Design Linz have hosted an exhibition by artists associated with an international higher-education institution whose curriculum takes an innovative approach to teaching media art and media culture.

Initiated by Prof. Reinhard Kannonier (University of Art and Design Linz) and Gerfried Stocker (Ars Electronica), the intention of the Campus format is to invite outstanding international universities working in the academic fields of media arts and design. Projects highlighted here represent the nature of the mission and activities of invited guest universities from all around the world. These showcases became an essential part of the festival and an instrument to analyze and visualize different models of educational approaches in artistic and creative areas. It has also increasingly developed into a stage for contextualized works from alumni, professors or associates from the universities to map the identity of academic institutions, their history and current practice.

By starting the content, you agree that data will be transmitted to Protection Declaration

Part of Campus’s mission is to enable the presentation of young, local media artists and their work with international exposure. The Interface Cultures program of the University of Art and Design Linz annually presents a cross-section from their masterclass works and, together with Ars Electronica, co-hosts one main featured partner university each year. The festival is increasingly becoming a platform for artistic and creative collaborations between Ars Electronica and various regional, academic partners, for example the Fashion & Technology, the Interface Cultures or the Visual Communication program at the University of Art and Design Linz, the Anton Bruckner Private University Upper Austria or the University of Applied Science Upper Austria, Campus Hagenberg.




Featured university of each year:

  • 2002: Academy of Media Arts, Cologne (DE)
  • 2003: Department of Media & Art at the University of Art, Media and Design in Zurich (CH)
  • 2004: IAMAS (JP)
  • 2005: Srishti School of Art Design and Technology, Bangalore (IN)
  • 2006: Medialab at the University of Art and Design Helsinki (FI)
  • 2007: HGK FHNW, the Swiss Institute for Postindustrial Design (CH)
  • 2008: University of Tokyo (JP)
  • 2009: MIT Media Lab (US)
  • 2010: Media Campus of the Darmstadt University of Applied Sciences (DE), School of Art & Design at the Cork Institute of Technology (IE)
  • 2011: University of Tsukuba (JP)
  • 2012: UdK–Berlin University of the Arts, Sound Studies (DE)
  • 2013: Bezalel Academy of Arts and Design, Hamidrasha Art School of Beit Ber College, Holon Institute of Technology, Kibbutzim College of Education, Technology and the Arts, Shenkar College of Engineering and Design, the Media Innovation Lab at IDC Herzliya, Musrara School, the Neri Bloomfield School of Design and Education, Hadassah Academic College and the College of Management – Academic Studies (COMAS) (IL)
  • 2014: Arts2 – École Supériere des Arts (BE)
  • 2015: Paris 8 University (FR)
  • 2016: Tsinghua University Beijing (CN)
  • 2017: University of California Los Angeles (US)
  • 2018: Hexagram, international research network (CA)
  • 2019: Bauhaus University, Weimar (DE)


Campus is also a platform for international exchange between universities, leading to increasing collaboration between academic partners. In 2019, 57 universities and institutions from many parts of the world are represented:

  • Academy of Arts, Architecture and Design in Prague (CZ)
  • Academy of Media Arts Cologne (DE)
  • Aichi University of the Arts (JP)
  • Ajou University Industry-Academic Cooperation Foundation (KR)
  • Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt (AT)
  • Anyang Creative Industry Promotion Agency (KR)
  • Asia Culture Institute (KR)
  • Austrian Design Network UNIFH (AT)
  • Camberwell College of Arts, University of the Arts London (UK)
  • CARISSMA – Center of Automotive Research, Technische Hochschule Ingolstadt (DE)
  • Central Academy of Fine Arts Beijing (CN)
  • Cheju Halla University (KR)
  • Cheung KRng School of Art and Design, Shantou University (CN)
  • Chung-Ang University (KR)
  • ChungKang College of Cultural Industries (KR)
  • Chungnam Culture Technology Industry Agency (KR)
  • CINETic, University of Theatre and Film “I.L. Caragiale” Bucharest (RO)
  • Culture Art Design Institute (KR)
  • Department of Visual Communication, University of Art and Design Linz (AT)
  • Digital Anthropology Lab, University of the Arts London (UK)
  • Dongguk University Gyeongju (KR)
  • Fachhochschule Salzburg (AT)
  • Fashion & Technology, University of Art and Design Linz (AT)
  • FH Joanneum University of Applied Sciences (AT)
  • FH Oberösterreich — University of Applied Sciences Upper Austria (AT)
  • FH Voralberg — University of Applied Sciences (AT)
  • Gwangju University (KR)
  • Gyeongnam Culture and Arts Foundation (KR)
  • HKU University of the Arts Utrecht (NL)
  • Interface Cultures, University of Art and Design Linz (AT)
  • Jeju Film & Culture Industry Promotion Agency (KR)
  • Kaywon University (KR)
  • KRCCA KRrea Creative Content Agency (KR)
  • KRnkuk University (KRnkuk University-Industry Cooperation Foundation) (KR)
  • KRrea National University of Arts (KR)
  • Kyungnam University (KR)
  • LatBio Lab, UMAI Maimonides University (AR)
  • London College of Communication, University of the Arts London (UK)
  • Masaryk University, Faculty of Arts, Brno (CZ)
  • Mokwon University (KR)
  • New Design University, St. Pölten (AT)
  • Queen Mary University of London (UK)
  • Random(lab) – ESAD Sait-Étienne & ENSBA Lyon (FR)
  • Roy Ascott Technoetic Arts Studio, Shanghai Institute of Visual Arts (CN)
  • Sangmyung University (KR)
  • School of the Art Institute of Chicago (US)
  • Sejong University (KR)
  • Soonchunhyang University (KR)
  • St.Pölten University of Applied Sciences (AT)
  • Sungkyul University (KR)
  • The Center of Research for Silla Culture (KR)
  • Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien (AT)
  • Universität Mozarteum, Salzburg (AT)
  • Universitat Politècnica de València (ES)
  • University College London, Interactive Architecture Lab, The Bartlett School of Architecture (UK)
  • University of Applied Sciences Würzburg-Schweinfurt (DE)
  • University of Lisbon, Faculty of Arts (PT)
  • University of Theatre and Film “I.L. Caragiale”,
  • University of Tsukuba (JP)
  • University of West Bohemia Pilsen (CZ)
  • Wimbledon College of Arts, University of the Arts London (UK)