Johann Sebastian Bach: Suites for unaccompanied cello

Yishu Jiang (AT)

Sat Sep 7, 2019, 5:00 pm - 5:30 pm
All times are given in Central European Summer Time (CEST / UTC +2).
St. Florian Monastery

The Bach cello suites played in the performance are structured in six movements each: prelude, allemande, courante, sarabande, two minuets or two bourrées, and a final gigue. The Bach cello suites are considered to be among the most profound of all classical music works.

Johann Sebastian Bach: Suites for unaccompanied cello/Yishu Jiang (AT), Credit: Yishu Jiang

Short curatorial statement:
J.S. Bach was already considered a virtuoso during his lifetime. But what is perfection? Can learning machines bring something to perfection? Yishu Jiang’s performance contrasts the idea of high precision perfection with all the human affection that is transported in musical compositions.



Yishu Jiang (AT) was born in Sichuan, China. In 2002 she moved to Austria and continued her education at the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna. Her teachers here were Wolfgang Herzer, Stefan Kropfitsch, and Reinhard Latzko. She won the first prize at the Gradus ad Parnassum Competition in 2009 and was unanimously awarded the Klassikpreis Österreich 2009 at the subsequent gala concert. From 2007 to 2016 Yishu Jiang was a member of the ORF RSO Vienna and since 2012 she has been a lecturer for violoncello at the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna. After her engagement with the ORF RSO Vienna she was the 2nd solo cellist in the Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte Carlo and since September 2016 she has been the principal in the Bruckner Orchestra Linz.